Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Newbie needs help with a linksys befsr41 router

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.

Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Computers & IT > Networking
Register FAQ Community Calendar

Newbie needs help with a linksys befsr41 router

Old 23-01-2008, 23:24   #1
konakona
Inactive

konakona is an unknown quantity at this point
Newbie needs help with a linksys befsr41 router

Hi!

I a complete newbie to all this networking malarkie so please go easy on me!

I have to pc's both running on xp pro, which were conected directly by ethernet cable, on upstairs, conecting to the internet though the one down stairs. and everything was fine and happy!

Got an xbox for christmas and wanted to get online, so got hold of a linksys befsr41 v2 router today as I was told that it was compatible with xbox and virgin media.

Set it up and the pc down stairs had not probs at all, straight online and everything was great!

However...... the pc upstairs would not connect. It says that the cable is unpluged, the light on the network card does not light when it is pluged into the router, but does light when pluged in to the modem (so not a cable problem)

I've tried connecting the cable to every port in the router with no joy.
I've tried connecting the cable from the working computer (downstairs) in to every port and they all work, so I dont think its a fualty router.