Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | All hub3 users affected by confirmed latency issue

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

All hub3 users affected by confirmed latency issue
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-02-2017, 21:41   #46
roughbeast
cf.mega poster
 
roughbeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Coventry Cab CV826
Services: 300Mb /20mb, TV V+ HD/ TIVO 1Tb, Phone XL Talk unlimited and mobile x4
Posts: 1,310
roughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of society
Re: All hub3 users affected by confirmed latency issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Synthetic View Post
Yeah, the jitter isn't brilliant to be honest, not sure if that's down to the SH3 or just VM's network

Your bit of network probably.

__________________
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Coventry Cab CV826
Services: 300Mb /20mb, TV V+ HD/ TIVO 1Tb, Phone XL Talk unlimited and mobile x4. SH3 modem mode with Asus RT-N66U
roughbeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 06-02-2017, 11:56   #47
Kushan
FORMER Virgin Media Staff
 
Kushan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Warrington
Posts: 4,122
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Re: All hub3 users affected by confirmed latency issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Travelstar View Post
The silence on this issue is deafening. I can definitely see the problem myself so surprised there as been so few recent public announcements on the issue. Maybe Intel really have dropped the ball here?
I think the issue is overblown and most people won't notice any actual problems day to day. That's why you're not hearing about it.
__________________
My views are my own and in no way reflect those of Virgin Media.
Kushan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2017, 18:04   #48
Martin_D
cf.geek
 
Martin_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 744
Martin_D is a name known to allMartin_D is a name known to allMartin_D is a name known to allMartin_D is a name known to allMartin_D is a name known to allMartin_D is a name known to allMartin_D is a name known to allMartin_D is a name known to all
Re: All hub3 users affected by confirmed latency issue

Here is an official ARRIS statement to this ongoing issue:

"Thank you for your ongoing feedback; your input has been valuable in helping characterize the impact of the issue. As you know, a beta patch was previously distributed in the field for testing (Just for usa) and to address the ping issue. Some of you have already received that. Going forward, this patch will be bundled with the TCP/UDP patch for a combined update and official code release. As you would expect, the TCP/UDP issue has been more challenging to develop a patch for. The good news is that Intel has now developed and issued a proposed firmware fix for the TCP/UDP issue; ARRIS is testing the latest firmware update and will roll it out to service providers as soon as testing is complete. "
Martin_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2017, 18:12   #49
SnoopZ
CF Resident Dog
 
SnoopZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 9,844
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
Re: All hub3 users affected by confirmed latency issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin_D View Post
Here is an official ARRIS statement to this ongoing issue:

"Thank you for your ongoing feedback; your input has been valuable in helping characterize the impact of the issue. As you know, a beta patch was previously distributed in the field for testing (Just for usa) and to address the ping issue. Some of you have already received that. Going forward, this patch will be bundled with the TCP/UDP patch for a combined update and official code release. As you would expect, the TCP/UDP issue has been more challenging to develop a patch for. The good news is that Intel has now developed and issued a proposed firmware fix for the TCP/UDP issue; ARRIS is testing the latest firmware update and will roll it out to service providers as soon as testing is complete. "
Is this the reason we're seeing a huge amount of yellow on hour TBB monitors?
__________________
Xbox One Gamertag: Snoopzster
PSN: Snoopzster
SnoopZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2017, 23:02   #50
Paul M
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Age: 54
Services: VM Phone : Tivo Multiroom : VM Cable (200 Mbps) : Sky BB (38 Mbps)
Posts: 20,433
Paul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny stars
Paul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny stars
Re: All hub3 users affected by confirmed latency issue

I assume so, mines the same, not that I ever really notice any actual effect.
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2017, 23:19   #51
SnoopZ
CF Resident Dog
 
SnoopZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 9,844
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
Re: All hub3 users affected by confirmed latency issue

It doesn't seem to affect my connection either.
__________________
Xbox One Gamertag: Snoopzster
PSN: Snoopzster
SnoopZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2017, 07:51   #52
Synthetic
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 480
Synthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really nice
Re: All hub3 users affected by confirmed latency issue

Same. TBB graph looks awful but my actual ping is about 14ms to bbc etc so i'm in no rush for this to be rolled out.
Synthetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2017, 08:51   #53
Travelstar
cf.member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 39
Travelstar is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: All hub3 users affected by confirmed latency issue

It affects VOIP traffic so I'm looking forward to this being rolled out. Personally I prefer low latency over speed. I'd happily take a half speed back age if I knew the latency was going to be low.
Travelstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2017, 09:22   #54
Synthetic
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 480
Synthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really nice
Re: All hub3 users affected by confirmed latency issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Travelstar View Post
It affects VOIP traffic so I'm looking forward to this being rolled out. Personally I prefer low latency over speed. I'd happily take a half speed back age if I knew the latency was going to be low.
Fair enough, I use EE's wifi calling on mine and I've not noticed any issues on , but I suppose other VoIP services might need more "stable" low latency to function properly.

Hub in modem mode with an Asus 1200G+.
Synthetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2017, 09:53   #55
rtho782
cf.member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 47
rtho782 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: All hub3 users affected by confirmed latency issue

I use VoIP as I don't have a landline, so just a Siemens Gigaset N300IP with DECT handsets.

I don't notice an issue at all, it's perfect.
rtho782 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2017, 12:44   #56
Daveoc64
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Bristol, UK
Services: Freeview Play, Virgin Media Gamer 200mbps
Posts: 154
Daveoc64 will become famous soon enoughDaveoc64 will become famous soon enoughDaveoc64 will become famous soon enough
Re: All hub3 users affected by confirmed latency issue

It's quite difficult to identify that the issue is causing problems, so don't assume that you aren't affected. It took almost a year for people to identify the behaviour of the software that was causing the problem (well documented on DSLReports).

Every modem/router that uses the affected Intel chip suffers from the problem.

The problem results in some connections being held up. This means that a simple ping test or a test over a long period of time (like TBB graph) is unlikely to show it. But if you try going to a web site, and the DNS lookup for that request is held up, your site will take longer to load.

If you're playing a game and one of your packets is held up, your game might be interrupted at a key time.
Daveoc64 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2017, 13:55   #57
rtho782
cf.member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 47
rtho782 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: All hub3 users affected by confirmed latency issue

I get that every SH3 has this issue, I'm just saying I haven't noticed any symptoms, and that VoIP works fine.
rtho782 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2017, 09:51   #58
Gobble
cf.member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Services: 200/12 Hub 3, 16 Channels cBR-8 CMTS
Posts: 90
Gobble is just really niceGobble is just really niceGobble is just really niceGobble is just really niceGobble is just really niceGobble is just really nice
Re: All hub3 users affected by confirmed latency issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by rtho782 View Post
I get that every SH3 has this issue, I'm just saying I haven't noticed any symptoms, and that VoIP works fine.
VOIP despite what a lot of people think can handle jitter (hence the buffer). Obviously if it starts getting stupid and/or a lot of packet loss is present, then that changes things.
Gobble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2017, 14:30   #59
Travelstar
cf.member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 39
Travelstar is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: All hub3 users affected by confirmed latency issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gobble View Post
VOIP despite what a lot of people think can handle jitter (hence the buffer). Obviously if it starts getting stupid and/or a lot of packet loss is present, then that changes things.
Packet loss is something that sadly I appear to often see. Therefore VOIP calls will appear choppy at times.

I have also noticed that downloads randomly fail, with often several attempts unable to complete the download. Added to which, streaming iPlayer, Netflix or Amazon sometimes also yields a failed stream which can be annoying, especially if you can't pick back up where you left off (very common with iPlayer).

All of the above are classic symptoms of packet loss.

FWIW, my power levels are again great (in the 1-2db range) and SNR above the levels where they cause problems (35.5-37.5db). Upstream is generally steady at 35db.
Travelstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 22:06.


Server: calcium.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.