Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | GPU same per as Nvidua 1070 but by AMD?

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Computers & IT > General IT Discussion

GPU same per as Nvidua 1070 but by AMD?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-01-2017, 16:58   #1
GazCBG
cf.geek
 
GazCBG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Age: 41
Services: 200Mb (Superhub v3) | TV: 2x TiVo on XL | Phone
Posts: 970
GazCBG is a jewel in the roughGazCBG is a jewel in the roughGazCBG is a jewel in the roughGazCBG is a jewel in the roughGazCBG is a jewel in the rough
GPU same per as Nvidua 1070 but by AMD?

Hi,

I am looking for something on the same per as the Nvidia 1070 but by AMD.
As I can't really afford a 1070 at this time.
__________________
Intel core i5 2500K // Gigabyte GA-Z68A-D3-B3 // ATI HD6870 1GB // Creative X-Fi Titanium (SB0880) // 8GB G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3 1333Mhz
Samsung 850 Evo 120GB + 250GB & WD Black 500GB // ThermalTake 500W // Windows 7 Home Premium (64Bit)
GazCBG is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 10-01-2017, 17:02   #2
OhReally
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: GPU same per as Nvidua 1070 but by AMD?

Quote:
Originally Posted by GazCBG View Post
Hi,

I am looking for something on the same per as the Nvidia 1070 but by AMD.
As I can't really afford a 1070 at this time.
Get the 970, unlikely you'll notice much difference if you're gaming.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2017, 17:18   #3
Kabaal
Haggis Hunting
 
Kabaal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Over there
Posts: 937
Kabaal has a brilliant futureKabaal has a brilliant futureKabaal has a brilliant futureKabaal has a brilliant futureKabaal has a brilliant futureKabaal has a brilliant futureKabaal has a brilliant futureKabaal has a brilliant futureKabaal has a brilliant futureKabaal has a brilliant futureKabaal has a brilliant futureKabaal has a brilliant future
Re: GPU same per as Nvidua 1070 but by AMD?

AMD don't have a card equivalent to the 1070 at the moment. The next best thing from them would be an RX 480, it's not as fast as a 1070 but that's reflected in the price.
Kabaal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2017, 17:57   #4
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 60
Services: As I spend little time at home have an arrangemet to use a neighbours SKY connection for a small fee
Posts: 5,532
pip08456 has a bronzed appealpip08456 has a bronzed appeal
pip08456 has a bronzed appealpip08456 has a bronzed appealpip08456 has a bronzed appealpip08456 has a bronzed appealpip08456 has a bronzed appealpip08456 has a bronzed appealpip08456 has a bronzed appealpip08456 has a bronzed appealpip08456 has a bronzed appealpip08456 has a bronzed appealpip08456 has a bronzed appealpip08456 has a bronzed appealpip08456 has a bronzed appealpip08456 has a bronzed appealpip08456 has a bronzed appealpip08456 has a bronzed appealpip08456 has a bronzed appeal
Re: GPU same per as Nvidua 1070 but by AMD?

http://gpu.userbenchmark.com/Compare...480/3609vs3634

http://gpu.userbenchmark.com/Compare...480/2577vs3634
pip08456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2017, 18:34   #5
Taf
cf.mega poster
 
Taf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kairdiff-by-the-sea
Age: 61
Services: TVXL BBXL Superhub 2ac (wired) 1Tb Tivo
Posts: 7,199
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Re: GPU same per as Nvidua 1070 but by AMD?

According to several friends, you'd better upgrade your cooling for the newest AMD GPU's.
Taf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2017, 18:46   #6
Kabaal
Haggis Hunting
 
Kabaal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Over there
Posts: 937
Kabaal has a brilliant futureKabaal has a brilliant futureKabaal has a brilliant futureKabaal has a brilliant futureKabaal has a brilliant futureKabaal has a brilliant futureKabaal has a brilliant futureKabaal has a brilliant futureKabaal has a brilliant futureKabaal has a brilliant futureKabaal has a brilliant futureKabaal has a brilliant future
Re: GPU same per as Nvidua 1070 but by AMD?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Taf View Post
According to several friends, you'd better upgrade your cooling for the newest AMD GPU's.
Nothing wrong with the temps on AMD 470 or 480's, they idle at 50C which some people wrongly assume is too hot but they are designed so the fans stop when not in use so they are silent.

Maybe the ones with reference coolers are different but all of the ones with third party coolers are perfectly fine.
Kabaal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2017, 00:49   #7
adzii_nufc
Rafalution
 
adzii_nufc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Newcastle
Age: 26
Posts: 4,094
adzii_nufc has a bronzed appealadzii_nufc has a bronzed appeal
adzii_nufc has a bronzed appealadzii_nufc has a bronzed appealadzii_nufc has a bronzed appealadzii_nufc has a bronzed appeal
Re: GPU same per as Nvidua 1070 but by AMD?

Yeah I wouldn't worry about temps that much. I haven't updated my sig because I'm lazy but I switched out for dual 390x's last year and they aren't hydro cooled the way the 295x2 was, they sit at about 57ish here. Waiting for AMD's next move before possibly changing the mobo to Intel support and going for a high end dual nvidia combo. Last time I had an Nvidia card was dual 770's on release, honestly never had a problem with Nvidia over the years. Still love the GT series to this date and have actually kept one of the 1GB 9800gt's

As for experience with AMD, I have a media and family light gaming build with a 270x in that's flawless and quite amazing for the price. However, the 295x2 and these 390's have been a pain in the arse quite often over the past year. I've got these working now but from dodgy drivers causing mayhem with resolutions and specific games just being an absolutely AMD no go.
__________________
AMD FX 9590 5GHz - 16gb Corsair Vengeance Pro Silver - Asus Crosshair V Formula-Z - XFX Radeon R9 295X2 Hydra Edition

Last edited by adzii_nufc; 11-01-2017 at 00:52.
adzii_nufc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2017, 09:40   #8
Stuart
Cable Forum Team
Cable Forum Team
 
Stuart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sarf east Luhndun.
Services: Virgin for TV and Internet, BT for phone
Posts: 26,358
Stuart has a lot of silver blingStuart has a lot of silver blingStuart has a lot of silver blingStuart has a lot of silver bling
Stuart has a lot of silver blingStuart has a lot of silver blingStuart has a lot of silver blingStuart has a lot of silver blingStuart has a lot of silver blingStuart has a lot of silver blingStuart has a lot of silver blingStuart has a lot of silver blingStuart has a lot of silver blingStuart has a lot of silver blingStuart has a lot of silver blingStuart has a lot of silver blingStuart has a lot of silver blingStuart has a lot of silver blingStuart has a lot of silver blingStuart has a lot of silver bling
Re: GPU same per as Nvidua 1070 but by AMD?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kabaal View Post
AMD don't have a card equivalent to the 1070 at the moment. The next best thing from them would be an RX 480, it's not as fast as a 1070 but that's reflected in the price.
I saw a video on Youtube demonstrating the latest AMD Cpus, and I found it surprising they were using Geforce 1080s in the demo rig. This was an official AMD demo rig.
Stuart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2017, 13:20   #9
Uncle Peter
złżcie kopie!
 
Uncle Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Vicinia Deva Victrix
Age: 47
Services: Sidechaining
Posts: 5,507
Uncle Peter has a nice shiny starUncle Peter has a nice shiny star
Uncle Peter has a nice shiny starUncle Peter has a nice shiny starUncle Peter has a nice shiny starUncle Peter has a nice shiny starUncle Peter has a nice shiny starUncle Peter has a nice shiny starUncle Peter has a nice shiny starUncle Peter has a nice shiny starUncle Peter has a nice shiny starUncle Peter has a nice shiny starUncle Peter has a nice shiny starUncle Peter has a nice shiny starUncle Peter has a nice shiny starUncle Peter has a nice shiny star
Re: GPU same per as Nvidua 1070 but by AMD?

The thing to bear in mind is what resolution you're playing at. There's no real cost benefit of going North of the GTX970/RX480 if you're just running at 1080p or with multi displays.

I had a 970 in this for a while and didn't feel the need to even consider upgrading it until buying a 2K monitor.
__________________
Nero fiddles while Gordon burns... in his Joy Division oven gloves
Uncle Peter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2017, 00:15   #10
Gavin78
Ice Cold
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Leeds, Seacroft
Age: 39
Services: XL TV M Phone 200MB BB
Posts: 1,118
Gavin78 is a splendid one to beholdGavin78 is a splendid one to beholdGavin78 is a splendid one to beholdGavin78 is a splendid one to beholdGavin78 is a splendid one to beholdGavin78 is a splendid one to beholdGavin78 is a splendid one to beholdGavin78 is a splendid one to beholdGavin78 is a splendid one to behold
Re: GPU same per as Nvidua 1070 but by AMD?

Another site I post on puts these in order 1060/480/1070 there is a site on facebook that you can usually get stuff cheaper to buy I've been a member for about a month or so now.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/3222...17005/?fref=nf

Site is called PC and Parts for sale UK...they use PayPal for transactions only they also trouble shoot pc problems
Gavin78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 22:06.


Server: barium.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.