Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | PC won’t load programs or shut down.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Computers & IT > General IT Discussion

PC won’t load programs or shut down.
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-11-2017, 12:53   #1
iadom
Red Devils Rule.
 
iadom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Shaw, Oldham, Lancashire.
Services: Full House TV, 2 TIVO stb's. 2 Phone lines. 200 Meg BB.
Posts: 6,323
iadom has a nice shiny stariadom has a nice shiny star
iadom has a nice shiny stariadom has a nice shiny star
PC won’t load programs or shut down.

Win 10 with latest update version.

No major problems at all until today. Shut down perfectly last night.

Appears to boot normally, desktop and all icons display correctly but if I try to open any program, browser, mail etc they stall on loading, trying to open Task Manager fails totally and times out after a couple of minutes.

Left click on start button has no effect at all. Right click on start button brings up the extended menu and I can then select Shut Down from that.

It eventually switches the screen off but the PC light itself stays on. Left it for over 30 minutes and eventually had to hold the power button in to switch it off completely.

No prior warnings off any problems before today.

Any helpful suggestions greatly appreciated.

Jim.

NB Just tried to start in Safe Mode but using the Shift>Power>Restart is just restarting in normal mode.

---------- Post added at 11:53 ---------- Previous post was at 11:16 ----------

I was going to delete this thread but will leave it in case it helps anyone else.

I eventually traced the problem to an update to Trend Micro that had stalled and locked up the system.

I was able to use the Trend Micro toolkit to remove the dodgy update and after a reboot it now seems to have updated correctly and all seems well ATM.

Last edited by iadom; 01-11-2017 at 13:11.
iadom is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 01-11-2017, 15:24   #2
Osem
Expose lies & hypocrisy
Shark Attack Champion, Pacman Champion, Air Attack 3 Champion, MiniPool Champion
 
Osem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Right here!
Posts: 22,235
Osem is seeing silvered starsOsem is seeing silvered starsOsem is seeing silvered starsOsem is seeing silvered starsOsem is seeing silvered starsOsem is seeing silvered starsOsem is seeing silvered stars
Osem is seeing silvered starsOsem is seeing silvered starsOsem is seeing silvered starsOsem is seeing silvered starsOsem is seeing silvered starsOsem is seeing silvered starsOsem is seeing silvered starsOsem is seeing silvered starsOsem is seeing silvered starsOsem is seeing silvered starsOsem is seeing silvered stars
Re: PC won’t load programs or shut down.

Yes always good to leave these things as others might find the information useful at any time.

How did you manage to start the PC and find he problem?
__________________
Corbyn's nasty 'new' politics - hypocrisy, ineptitude, intimidation, extremism & even more debt.

Same old lies, same old Labour.
Osem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 16:08   #3
adzii_nufc
Rafalution
 
adzii_nufc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Newcastle
Age: 27
Posts: 4,525
adzii_nufc has a bronzed appealadzii_nufc has a bronzed appeal
adzii_nufc has a bronzed appealadzii_nufc has a bronzed appealadzii_nufc has a bronzed appealadzii_nufc has a bronzed appealadzii_nufc has a bronzed appealadzii_nufc has a bronzed appeal
Re: PC won’t load programs or shut down.

Seen an annoying bug since the update that leaves the taskbar unresponsive when awakening from sleep mode, happened a fair few times. Just CTRL+Shift+ESC into task manager and restart the windows explorer process.

I'm saying annoying bug but it could be a program conflict upon awakening.

Quote:
It eventually switches the screen off but the PC light itself stays on. Left it for over 30 minutes and eventually had to hold the power button in to switch it off completely.
Having this happen the odd time too since the update, not the issues beforehand but shutting down or sleeping, it just black screens and idles constantly.
__________________
AMD FX 9590 5GHz - 16gb Corsair Vengeance Pro Silver - Asus Crosshair V Formula-Z - XFX Radeon R9 295X2 Hydra Edition
adzii_nufc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 16:20   #4
iadom
Red Devils Rule.
 
iadom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Shaw, Oldham, Lancashire.
Services: Full House TV, 2 TIVO stb's. 2 Phone lines. 200 Meg BB.
Posts: 6,323
iadom has a nice shiny stariadom has a nice shiny star
iadom has a nice shiny stariadom has a nice shiny star
Re: PC won’t load programs or shut down.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Osem View Post
Yes always good to leave these things as others might find the information useful at any time.

How did you manage to start the PC and find he problem?
Didn’t have any problems actually starting PC. Just couldn’t get anything to run, tried to open task manager to see what was clogging things up but it just wouldn’t open.

After starting it again and allowing time for it to settle down I then checked on the ‘hidden icons’ to the right of the taskbar. All fine except for the Trend Micro icon, it should have been red but was greyed out with ‘starting your protection ‘ displayed when hovering.

A quick Google on the iPad revealed a couple of answers that led me to the fix.

Last edited by iadom; 01-11-2017 at 16:47.
iadom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 19:32   #5
Osem
Expose lies & hypocrisy
Shark Attack Champion, Pacman Champion, Air Attack 3 Champion, MiniPool Champion
 
Osem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Right here!
Posts: 22,235
Osem is seeing silvered starsOsem is seeing silvered starsOsem is seeing silvered starsOsem is seeing silvered starsOsem is seeing silvered starsOsem is seeing silvered starsOsem is seeing silvered stars
Osem is seeing silvered starsOsem is seeing silvered starsOsem is seeing silvered starsOsem is seeing silvered starsOsem is seeing silvered starsOsem is seeing silvered starsOsem is seeing silvered starsOsem is seeing silvered starsOsem is seeing silvered starsOsem is seeing silvered starsOsem is seeing silvered stars
Re: PC won’t load programs or shut down.

Quote:
Originally Posted by iadom View Post
Didn’t have any problems actually starting PC. Just couldn’t get anything to run, tried to open task manager to see what was clogging things up but it just wouldn’t open.

After starting it again and allowing time for it to settle down I then checked on the ‘hidden icons’ to the right of the taskbar. All fine except for the Trend Micro icon, it should have been red but was greyed out with ‘starting your protection ‘ displayed when hovering.

A quick Google on the iPad revealed a couple of answers that led me to the fix.
Thanks.
__________________
Corbyn's nasty 'new' politics - hypocrisy, ineptitude, intimidation, extremism & even more debt.

Same old lies, same old Labour.
Osem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2017, 02:06   #6
Dude111
An Awesome Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,379
Dude111 is a pillar of societyDude111 is a pillar of societyDude111 is a pillar of societyDude111 is a pillar of societyDude111 is a pillar of societyDude111 is a pillar of societyDude111 is a pillar of societyDude111 is a pillar of societyDude111 is a pillar of societyDude111 is a pillar of societyDude111 is a pillar of societyDude111 is a pillar of societyDude111 is a pillar of societyDude111 is a pillar of societyDude111 is a pillar of societyDude111 is a pillar of societyDude111 is a pillar of societyDude111 is a pillar of societyDude111 is a pillar of societyDude111 is a pillar of society
Im glad ya got things working Iadom

Its frusterating isnt it??
Dude111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2017, 07:41   #7
djfunkdup
NoT 1oF tHe UsUaLSuSpeCtS
 
djfunkdup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: DaRk SiDe Of ThE MooN
Services: Vivid350/20+Mbps 'Standalone Broadband Connection'
Posts: 433
djfunkdup has a reputation beyond reputedjfunkdup has a reputation beyond reputedjfunkdup has a reputation beyond reputedjfunkdup has a reputation beyond reputedjfunkdup has a reputation beyond reputedjfunkdup has a reputation beyond reputedjfunkdup has a reputation beyond reputedjfunkdup has a reputation beyond reputedjfunkdup has a reputation beyond reputedjfunkdup has a reputation beyond reputedjfunkdup has a reputation beyond reputedjfunkdup has a reputation beyond reputedjfunkdup has a reputation beyond repute
Re: PC won’t load programs or shut down.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dude111 View Post
Im glad ya got things working Iadom

Its frusterating isnt it??
I'll answer it for them .. it is yea
__________________
When adversity strikes, that's when you have to be the most calm. Take a step back, stay strong, stay grounded and press on.
djfunkdup is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:47.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.