Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | General Sky TV Discussion

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Alternatives to Virgin Media > Sky TV, Sky+ & Sky Q

General Sky TV Discussion
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 27-06-2017, 08:15   #2956
telegramsam
telegramsam
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Billingham
Services: Sky Q,Multiscreen, Sky phone line, Sky broadband,Free view.
Posts: 1,063
telegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud of
Re: General Sky TV Discussion

Quote:
Originally Posted by Inactive Digital View Post
No scart, I'm afraid. Converters are available from Amazon and the likes though.
Thanks for that,I'll look on Amazon for a converter.
telegramsam is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 27-06-2017, 10:25   #2957
spiderplant
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,065
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
Re: General Sky TV Discussion

I'd expect the installers can manage without a TV being present. It's a fairly common scenario. They may even have a test TV in their van
spiderplant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-2017, 20:58   #2958
telegramsam
telegramsam
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Billingham
Services: Sky Q,Multiscreen, Sky phone line, Sky broadband,Free view.
Posts: 1,063
telegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud of
Re: General Sky TV Discussion

Quote:
Originally Posted by spiderplant View Post
I'd expect the installers can manage without a TV being present. It's a fairly common scenario. They may even have a test TV in their van
I always thought they had to be able to see a working picture to fully know that all is set up correctly but as you say the engineer might have a TV in his van to be able to check on.
telegramsam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2017, 13:44   #2959
telegramsam
telegramsam
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Billingham
Services: Sky Q,Multiscreen, Sky phone line, Sky broadband,Free view.
Posts: 1,063
telegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud of
Re: General Sky TV Discussion

I bought a hdmi - rca converter from Amazon and all set up and working great! Thanks for help/advice guys.
telegramsam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2017, 23:06   #2960
Aguero9320
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Ashton-under-Lyne
Services: Virgin Media XL pack, Tivo downstairs, V HD box upstairs
Posts: 223
Aguero9320 has a spectacular aura about themAguero9320 has a spectacular aura about themAguero9320 has a spectacular aura about themAguero9320 has a spectacular aura about them
Re: General Sky TV Discussion

Breaking news: http://http://www.a516digital.com/20...reshuffle.html
Aguero9320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2017, 23:18   #2961
Media Boy
GOT NEWS? PM me.
 
Media Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Media Boy HQ
Posts: 11,734
Media Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny stars
Media Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny stars
Re: General Sky TV Discussion

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aguero9320 View Post
Link not working try http://www.a516digital.com/2017/08/s...reshuffle.html
__________________
Virgin - Updated Jul. 19th.
Blog - Updated Aug. 17th.
What may launch - Jul. 31st.
Media Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2017, 00:23   #2962
bubblegun
cf.addict
 
bubblegun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Earth
Services: books and magazines - hello!
Posts: 333
bubblegun is a jewel in the roughbubblegun is a jewel in the roughbubblegun is a jewel in the roughbubblegun is a jewel in the roughbubblegun is a jewel in the rough
Re: General Sky TV Discussion

Quote:
Originally Posted by telegramsam View Post
I always thought they had to be able to see a working picture to fully know that all is set up correctly but as you say the engineer might have a TV in his van to be able to check on.
This is slightly old but....no, Sky engineers don't carry a TV with them. I'm almost certain Virgin installers don't either.

A basic requirement to get Sky installed has always been to have a TV on-site at the time of the visit.

Sure, the engineer can install using just his signal meter to check the signal levels/quality/etc but they're not supposed to without the TV being there.
bubblegun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2017, 13:12   #2963
spiderplant
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,065
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
Re: General Sky TV Discussion

Quote:
Originally Posted by bubblegun View Post
This is slightly old but....no, Sky engineers don't carry a TV with them. I'm almost certain Virgin installers don't either.
Most VM techs do have a TV in their van. It's useful if they are investigating a fault which might be the customer's TV. It also allows them to test a STB at the street cabinet if they suspect a fault in the cabling to the house.
spiderplant is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:51.


Server: radium.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.