Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | General Sky TV Discussion

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Alternatives to Virgin Media > Sky TV, Sky+ & Sky Q

General Sky TV Discussion
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 27-06-2017, 08:15   #2956
telegramsam
telegramsam
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Billingham
Services: Sky Q,Multiscreen, Sky phone line, Sky broadband,Free view.
Posts: 1,069
telegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud of
Re: General Sky TV Discussion

Quote:
Originally Posted by Inactive Digital View Post
No scart, I'm afraid. Converters are available from Amazon and the likes though.
Thanks for that,I'll look on Amazon for a converter.
telegramsam is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 27-06-2017, 10:25   #2957
spiderplant
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,112
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
Re: General Sky TV Discussion

I'd expect the installers can manage without a TV being present. It's a fairly common scenario. They may even have a test TV in their van
spiderplant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-2017, 20:58   #2958
telegramsam
telegramsam
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Billingham
Services: Sky Q,Multiscreen, Sky phone line, Sky broadband,Free view.
Posts: 1,069
telegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud of
Re: General Sky TV Discussion

Quote:
Originally Posted by spiderplant View Post
I'd expect the installers can manage without a TV being present. It's a fairly common scenario. They may even have a test TV in their van
I always thought they had to be able to see a working picture to fully know that all is set up correctly but as you say the engineer might have a TV in his van to be able to check on.
telegramsam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2017, 13:44   #2959
telegramsam
telegramsam
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Billingham
Services: Sky Q,Multiscreen, Sky phone line, Sky broadband,Free view.
Posts: 1,069
telegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud oftelegramsam has much to be proud of
Re: General Sky TV Discussion

I bought a hdmi - rca converter from Amazon and all set up and working great! Thanks for help/advice guys.
telegramsam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2017, 23:06   #2960
Aguero9320
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Ashton-under-Lyne
Services: Virgin Media XL pack, Tivo downstairs, V HD box upstairs
Posts: 227
Aguero9320 has a spectacular aura about themAguero9320 has a spectacular aura about themAguero9320 has a spectacular aura about themAguero9320 has a spectacular aura about them
Re: General Sky TV Discussion

Breaking news: http://http://www.a516digital.com/20...reshuffle.html
Aguero9320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2017, 23:18   #2961
Media Boy
GOT NEWS? PM me.
 
Media Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Media Boy HQ
Posts: 11,822
Media Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny stars
Media Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny stars
Re: General Sky TV Discussion

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aguero9320 View Post
Link not working try http://www.a516digital.com/2017/08/s...reshuffle.html
__________________
Virgin - Updated Oct. 16th.
Blog - Updated Oct. 18th.
What may launch - Oct. 16th.
Media Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2017, 00:23   #2962
bubblegun
cf.addict
 
bubblegun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Earth
Services: books and magazines - hello!
Posts: 347
bubblegun is a jewel in the roughbubblegun is a jewel in the roughbubblegun is a jewel in the roughbubblegun is a jewel in the roughbubblegun is a jewel in the rough
Re: General Sky TV Discussion

Quote:
Originally Posted by telegramsam View Post
I always thought they had to be able to see a working picture to fully know that all is set up correctly but as you say the engineer might have a TV in his van to be able to check on.
This is slightly old but....no, Sky engineers don't carry a TV with them. I'm almost certain Virgin installers don't either.

A basic requirement to get Sky installed has always been to have a TV on-site at the time of the visit.

Sure, the engineer can install using just his signal meter to check the signal levels/quality/etc but they're not supposed to without the TV being there.
bubblegun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2017, 13:12   #2963
spiderplant
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,112
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
Re: General Sky TV Discussion

Quote:
Originally Posted by bubblegun View Post
This is slightly old but....no, Sky engineers don't carry a TV with them. I'm almost certain Virgin installers don't either.
Most VM techs do have a TV in their van. It's useful if they are investigating a fault which might be the customer's TV. It also allows them to test a STB at the street cabinet if they suspect a fault in the cabling to the house.
spiderplant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2017, 15:09   #2964
denphone
Still alive and happy
 
denphone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: In the land of beyond and beyond.
Services: XL BB, 2 V6 boxes , XL TV.
Posts: 44,305
denphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver bling
denphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver bling
Re: General Sky TV Discussion

Sky snaps up exclusive rights to Marvel’s Inhumans.

http://www.seenit.co.uk/sky-snaps-up...vels-inhumans/
__________________
“The only lesson you can learn from history is that it repeats itself”
denphone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2017, 17:51   #2965
jb66
cf.mega poster
 
jb66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5,175
jb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze array
jb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze array
Re: General Sky TV Discussion

Quote:
Originally Posted by spiderplant View Post
Most VM techs do have a TV in their van. It's useful if they are investigating a fault which might be the customer's TV. It also allows them to test a STB at the street cabinet if they suspect a fault in the cabling to the house.
Service techs do, installers dont have a tv
__________________
"The postings on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent Virgin Media's positions, strategies or opinions."
jb66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-2017, 05:40   #2966
RichardCoulter
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 5,153
RichardCoulter has disabled reputation
Re: General Sky TV Discussion

Sky Living Ireland HD has closed down. Irish customers now receive the same version as everywhere else as the slot is now mapped to the UK feed.

Eden HD is closing at 6am on Monday; at some point in October I expect the capacity to be used to create GOLD HD.

Eventually I think that Eden SD and GOLD SD will both become FTA and also join Freesat.
RichardCoulter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2017, 19:02   #2967
Media Boy
GOT NEWS? PM me.
 
Media Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Media Boy HQ
Posts: 11,822
Media Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny stars
Media Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny stars
Re: General Sky TV Discussion

Sky Sources has confirmed Sky are testing NEW things on Sky staff boxes.

We been the information on an Do Not Post order by our Sky Sources.
__________________
Virgin - Updated Oct. 16th.
Blog - Updated Oct. 18th.
What may launch - Oct. 16th.
Media Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2017, 19:52   #2968
Nsewell
cf.member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 29
Nsewell is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: General Sky TV Discussion

To be honest, it's not often something isn't being tested on some staff boxes. Software development doesn't stop, it's a continuous process with multiple releases being worked on concurrently.
Nsewell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2017, 22:03   #2969
Chad
cf.mega poster
 
Chad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Edinburgh
Services: SKY Family, SKY Broadband Unlimited, YouView, Netflix, Amazon Instant Video, Boxnation
Posts: 4,894
Chad has a nice shiny starChad has a nice shiny star
Chad has a nice shiny starChad has a nice shiny starChad has a nice shiny starChad has a nice shiny starChad has a nice shiny starChad has a nice shiny starChad has a nice shiny star
Re: General Sky TV Discussion

Quote:
Originally Posted by Media Boy View Post
Sky Sources has confirmed Sky are testing NEW things on Sky staff boxes.

We been the information on an Do Not Post order by our Sky Sources.
Noticed on my SKY +HD box today that the yellow button on the remote now takes you to "My SKY". A Menu comes up on the right hand side of the screen with the local weather, temperature and time. You can also view your SKY package, bills, fix problems, view messages from SKY and other bits and bobs.
Chad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2017, 18:34   #2970
Nsewell
cf.member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 29
Nsewell is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: General Sky TV Discussion

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chad View Post
Noticed on my SKY +HD box today that the yellow button on the remote now takes you to "My SKY". A Menu comes up on the right hand side of the screen with the local weather, temperature and time. You can also view your SKY package, bills, fix problems, view messages from SKY and other bits and bobs.
This is one of the features of the R017 update for Sky+HD which has been rolling out to customers since 6th September and should have completed today. The update also adds some other features such as improved clash management and Auto Record Series Link.


Also today the first group of Sky Q customers were upgraded to Q050, the main features are Voice Control and Favourites.
Nsewell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:32.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.