Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Removing sky card to save energy

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Alternatives to Virgin Media > Sky TV, Sky+ & Sky Q

Removing sky card to save energy
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-09-2017, 19:07   #1
thedavid2007
cf.addict
 
thedavid2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 104
thedavid2007 is an unknown quantity at this point
Removing sky card to save energy

I don't subscribe to sky, but I have a sky box and card. I've noticed how hot the card gets after a while. I imagine there's a lot of electronics inside that do nothing but check the card regularly for encryption purposes, even when it's on a free to air channel. I wonder if removing the card will deactivate a lot of internal processing and hence save energy long term. Just a thought.
thedavid2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 02-09-2017, 19:49   #2
spiderplant
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,144
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
Re: removing sky card to save energy

I doubt the card generates much heat itself. More likely the card reader is sited over a hot chip.

Some of the old NTL boxes were notorious for causing the cards to turn broen and warp, but it only happened because the card was right above a very hot chip.
spiderplant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2017, 16:37   #3
vm_tech
cf.addict
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 277
vm_tech is a glorious beacon of lightvm_tech is a glorious beacon of lightvm_tech is a glorious beacon of lightvm_tech is a glorious beacon of lightvm_tech is a glorious beacon of lightvm_tech is a glorious beacon of lightvm_tech is a glorious beacon of light
Re: removing sky card to save energy

Quote:
Originally Posted by spiderplant View Post
I doubt the card generates much heat itself. More likely the card reader is sited over a hot chip.

Some of the old NTL boxes were notorious for causing the cards to turn broen and warp, but it only happened because the card was right above a very hot chip.
Haha reminded me of when I was a service tech, the old
Pace boxes used to make the original telewest cards go all brittle around the chip! Used to pull them out and they we pretty much shatter!
vm_tech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2017, 17:34   #4
RichardCoulter
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 5,374
RichardCoulter has disabled reputation
Re: Removing sky card to save energy

Quote:
Originally Posted by thedavid2007 View Post
I don't subscribe to sky, but I have a sky box and card. I've noticed how hot the card gets after a while. I imagine there's a lot of electronics inside that do nothing but check the card regularly for encryption purposes, even when it's on a free to air channel. I wonder if removing the card will deactivate a lot of internal processing and hence save energy long term. Just a thought.
Sky boxes use a lot more energy than other satellite boxes. If I were you I'd unplug it at night if you aren't recording anything.

They tell you not to do this because it may miss an update, but any updates will be picked up as soon as you plug it back in.
RichardCoulter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2017, 17:07   #5
ozsat
cf.geek
 
ozsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Area 31
Services: VM V6 TiVo (MRS), VM Broadband 350/20mb, FreeviewHD, SkyQ UHD, FreesatHD, BT TV, DAB, Samsung 4k tv
Posts: 557
ozsat is a glorious beacon of lightozsat is a glorious beacon of lightozsat is a glorious beacon of lightozsat is a glorious beacon of lightozsat is a glorious beacon of lightozsat is a glorious beacon of lightozsat is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Removing sky card to save energy

That is not the case with most Sky boxes - if you miss an update it could be weeks before they send the trigger to you box and that will also be overnight - so switching it off will miss that one too.

You can force an update - but that will not work for the first few weeks of new software being available.

VirginMedia is the only one I know that does a software update check at startup.
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichardCoulter View Post
Sky boxes use a lot more energy than other satellite boxes. If I were you I'd unplug it at night if you aren't recording anything.

They tell you not to do this because it may miss an update, but any updates will be picked up as soon as you plug it back in.

Last edited by ozsat; 04-09-2017 at 17:11.
ozsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2017, 19:42   #6
RichardCoulter
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 5,374
RichardCoulter has disabled reputation
Re: Removing sky card to save energy

Hmmm so it seems that Sky customers have no choice but to keep their boxes powered up or risk missing an update.
RichardCoulter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2017, 19:50   #7
Stephen
Four leaf clover
Cable Forum Team
 
Stephen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Rutherglen
Age: 36
Services: Sky Q 2Tb, Sky Q mini, boxsets and Sports & Movies HD, Sky Fibre unlimited
Posts: 11,910
Stephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny star
Stephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny star
Re: Removing sky card to save energy

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichardCoulter View Post
Sky boxes use a lot more energy than other satellite boxes. If I were you I'd unplug it at night if you aren't recording anything.

They tell you not to do this because it may miss an update, but any updates will be picked up as soon as you plug it back in.
They don't use that much energy, and also have lower power mode options for when the box is not being used.

Standby is enough to cool down and save energy though, no need to unplug it at all.
__________________
X360 Gamertag: MartyMcFly88 PSN ID: martymcfly88
if a post is bold it's a moderating decision.
Stephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2017, 23:45   #8
muppetman11
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 10,860
muppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny stars
muppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Removing sky card to save energy

Switch the standby mode to Eco.

https://www.sky.com/help/articles/us...andby-settings
muppetman11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2017, 00:06   #9
RichardCoulter
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 5,374
RichardCoulter has disabled reputation
Re: Removing sky card to save energy

Some figures here:

https://www.sust-it.net/energy-saving.php?id=6

Think there must be an error and the in use and standby figures have been transposed as the standby figures are higher than the in use mode!
RichardCoulter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:05.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.